OpenAI readies $500 ChatGPT Pro Max tier as $200 Pro plan returns with reduced usage
OpenAI is restructuring its subscription plans, reopening the $200 Pro tier with roughly half the previous API-equivalent usage and removing the 5-hour limit, while code and leaks indicate a new $500-per-month "Pro Max" plan is in development, potentially powered by Cerebras infrastructure and a model codenamed "Bel." The company has also quietly removed usage multiplier labels from its Pro plan pages.
IllustrationEditorial responsibility
- No named human review is recorded for this page.
- Reports are grouped by semantic similarity and deterministic rules. Language models may assist titles, summaries, translation and cross-source analysis; the page reads the event directly, while its address stays stable when the title changes.
- Summary covers the current reports
Cross-source coverage
Reporting timeline
BREAKING 🔥: OpenAI announced ChatGPT Pro 500 plan, with x25 usage capacity and access to Ultrafast mode. No 5h limit, too 👀 https://t.co/fxy1k9gK3K
OpenAI has announced the ChatGPT Pro 500 plan, a new subscription tier offering users 25 times the standard usage capacity along with access to an Ultrafast mode. The plan also removes the previous 5-hour usage limit, according to a post from the testingcatalog account on X. The announcement was made via a social media post, which did not specify pricing or availability details beyond the listed features. The new tier appears aimed at heavy users seeking higher throughput and faster response times from the AI chatbot service.
Read sourceAnthropic CEO explains new Pro 200 plan multipliers and reopens subscriptions
In a post on X, the source (likely an Anthropic executive) announced changes to the company's subscription plans ahead of DevDay. The post details that the relative compute multipliers between plans will be set as: Plus = 1X, Pro 100 = 5X, and Pro 200 = 10X. Subscriptions for the Pro 200 plan, which had been paused, are being reopened. Existing plan holders will temporarily retain a 20X multiplier and receive additional credits to ease the transition, with the assurance that everyone will ultimately receive more compute capacity. The announcement frames these changes as part of a broader increase in capabilities across the Plus and Pro plans, supported by additional compute resources coming online.
OpenAI reinstates $200 Pro plan with halved API spend, cuts smaller model prices by 50%
OpenAI has announced the return of its $200 Pro subscription plan, now including half the total API spend previously offered, while simultaneously reducing prices on some of its smaller models (excluding Astra) by 50%. The analyst notes this does not impact average users but does affect recent superusers, attributing the change to Astra usage patterns. The post argues these moves signal that the AI industry remains in a compute-constrained world, listing over a dozen clues such as subscriber limits, usage windows, slower responses, default medium thinking, autorouting to smaller models, and CEOs tweeting about melting GPUs. The analyst also observes that the pricing changes were timed before expected positive press coverage, suggesting strategic communication management.
Read sourceShow 9 older updatesHide older updates
OpenAI to reopen $200 Pro subscription tomorrow with roughly half previous API-equivalent usage
OpenAI announced that its $200 per month Pro subscription tier will reopen for new sign-ups tomorrow. The company stated that the subscription will now include roughly half the previous API-equivalent usage. This change represents a significant reduction in the compute resources allocated to Pro subscribers compared to the initial offering. The announcement was made via a post on X, formerly Twitter, and is expected to take effect immediately upon reopening. The Pro subscription is OpenAI's premium tier, offering access to advanced AI models and higher usage limits than lower-tier plans. The reduction in API-equivalent usage may affect power users who rely on the subscription for extensive model access.
Read sourceOpenAI revives $200 Pro plan with reduced usage limits and no 5-hour cap
OpenAI is reinstating its $200 Pro subscription plan tomorrow, but with modified usage limits. The new plan offers 10 times the usage of the Plus tier, down from the previous 20 times, which is roughly equivalent to half the old Pro API spending. The 5-hour usage limit has been removed, which the source considers a positive change, though they express a desire for more usage. Additional non-usage subscription features are expected to be announced tomorrow. The source speculates that OpenAI's move may be a response to Anthropic's recent successes, and suggests OpenAI might introduce a $500 plan, reducing previous subscription limits to position the $500 tier as the new $200.
Read sourceOpenAI quietly removes 5× and 20× usage labels from Pro subscription plans
OpenAI appears to have quietly removed the 5× and 20× usage labels from its Pro subscription plans, according to a post on X by user Mr_Salio. Previously, the $100 Pro plan was advertised as offering 5× more usage than the Plus plan, and the $200 Pro plan offered 20× more usage. Now, both plans simply state 'More usage than Plus' in the user interface. The post notes that OpenAI's own help page still describes the tiers as 5× and 20×, making the UI change particularly notable. The author criticizes OpenAI for a lack of transparency, suggesting this is not the first time the company has made such an opaque change. The development raises questions about OpenAI's communication strategy regarding its pricing and usage tiers.
OpenAI may launch ChatGPT Pro Max with 'Bel' model at $500 per month as early as next Thursday
A leak on X suggests OpenAI could be preparing to launch a new subscription tier called ChatGPT Pro Max, priced at $500 per month, as early as next Thursday. The plan would reportedly be powered by a new AI model codenamed 'Bel' and could utilize Cerebras infrastructure for computing. According to the post, the only major changes from the existing ChatGPT Pro plan are described as 'Fastest Work and Codex.' Usage limits may be significantly higher, potentially up to 50 times. Additionally, the feature 'Aeon' could be included with Pro Max, which is already available to Team users. The source characterizes the potential launch as 'much bigger than we expected.'
Read sourceOpenAI will announce a ‘ProMax’ plan for 500$ per month on devday. I’d be more than happy to buy this but if it doesn’t allow you to run any chats 24/7 (even zero subagents would
According to a post by user ChrisGPT on X, OpenAI is set to announce a new subscription tier called 'ProMax' priced at $500 per month during its upcoming developer day (devday). The poster expresses a willingness to purchase the plan but conditions their enthusiasm on the plan allowing users to run chats continuously, 24/7, even without subagents. The post does not provide further details on the plan's features, availability, or official confirmation from OpenAI. This report is based solely on the single social media post and should be treated as an unverified rumor until officially announced.
Read sourceOpenAI Codex update adds support for $500 ChatGPT ProMax plan, internal labels changed
A new Codex update from OpenAI directly adds support for a 'promax' plan, according to a post by X user Mr_Salio. The update also changes internal labels: 'Pro' becomes 'Pro (More)', 'ProLite' becomes 'Pro', and 'ProMax' becomes 'Pro (Max)'. The user forecasts that OpenAI will ship the $500 ChatGPT plan on DevDay. The post does not provide official confirmation or further details from OpenAI.
Read sourceOpenAI to launch $500 ChatGPT Pro Max plan powered by Cerebras infrastructure
A new, higher-tier subscription plan for ChatGPT, tentatively named 'ChatGPT Pro Max', is reportedly in development with a price of $500 per month (displaying as $600 with VAT). According to a post from testingcatalog, the plan will likely be powered by infrastructure from AI chip company Cerebras. Compared to the existing ChatGPT Pro plan, the only changes noted so far in the plan description are 'Fastest Work and Codex', suggesting enhanced performance and coding capabilities. The post also hints that usage limits for the Pro Max plan could be higher than the current Pro tier. The source does not provide an official launch date or confirmation from OpenAI.
OpenAI ChatGPT code hints at Pro Max tier priced at $500 per month
A post on X by user Mr_Salio reports that OpenAI's ChatGPT frontend code appears to reveal a new subscription tier called Pro Max, priced at $500 per month. The code also lists other tiers: Plus at $20/month, Pro Lite at $100/month, and Pro at $200/month. The post questions what features Pro Max users would receive for the $500 monthly fee. The information is based on an analysis of the frontend code and has not been officially confirmed by OpenAI.
OpenAI prepares new higher-tier ChatGPT Pro plan as $200 plan faces demand pause
OpenAI is developing a new, higher-tier ChatGPT Pro subscription plan, according to a post from user Mr_Salio on X. This development comes as OpenAI's existing $200-per-month Pro plan is experiencing significant demand, leading the company to pause new sign-ups for that tier. The post does not specify the price of the new plan, leaving it to speculation. The announcement highlights OpenAI's strategy to expand its premium offerings amid strong market interest in its AI chatbot services.